On Some Days

By V1k1

Another Three Fly Free

Try saying that fast.  This morning three chrysalis opened.  This one moved to the outside of the butterfly castle and stayed hanging so I could take a ridiculous amount of photos.  I read those articles that say be selective about what you shoot.  When faced with the little miracle of a butterfly I forget all that and just click away in my happy place.  I choose this one because the focus was on the head and the rest fell away into unfocused.  It is also just hanging there and has turned it's head my way.
Our hillside has survived the stormy winds.  A maple tree has had it's top blown out.  This morning dawned blue and calm but as the day wore on there have been wind gusts and the odd shower.
P.S the lesson on blurb books went well.  The brother in law only uses email or accesses the web so I felt quite nervous when I was sitting beside him and realised he's not familiar with whizzing around a laptop.  Anyway a little patience and encouragement and he was away.
This is already a long post for me so I'll make it super long with pointing you in the direction of Sandra in Switzerland.  Getting To Know You
Her idea for getting to know each other through a self portrait has stuck with me and this afternoon I set up the tripod and took one.  This is ground zero for me.  I've done no learning about portraits or lighting.  I didn't even think what expression to show on my face. 
I really like her comment that a self portrait is about self acceptance.  Perhaps this is something women struggle with more than men.   Anyway have a read and a think.  Like Markus with the experimental photography topics I thought she has hit on an idea and is sharing it with this diverse and supportive community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.