Close Encounter

Today I noticed the birds are back in the garden.  The little wax eyes are coming to the Cabbage Tree berries.  This Bellbird is coming to the feeder.  The extra is him preening higher up the tree.  I had walked under the tree to try and get a butterfly that was drinking the sugar water and was having trouble getting it in focus.  Perhaps because I was standing still the bell bird hopped lower down the tree and I could move my focus onto him.  This is the closest I have been to one and it cheered me up no end.   
The statement of the U.S President where he suggested arming teachers made my blood pressure rise.  I was a teacher and just can't comprehend taking a weapon into a classroom.  Today is also the seventh anniversary of the Christchurch earthquake.  As you know my lovely daughter lives there and was working in the city on that afternoon.  The day always makes me stop and count my blessings.  I found my peace with this beautiful bird. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.