Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Three Amigos meet some Novacastrians.

We took the three Amigos to Nobbys beach and then walked them down the breakwall to pose with Nobbys headland with the lighthouse and signal house behind them. 

Nobbys is one of our iconic beaches made famous in 2007 when a ruddy big coal tanker, the Pasha Bulker washed up after a series of unfortunate events involving a mini cyclone. 

The headland which you can see behind the Three Amigos used to be a separate Island.  Captain Cook first sighted it in 1770 and our first nation people have probably known about it for 60,000 years or so but I digress.  When Newcastle was settled, the convicts were put to work building a pier from the point to the Island and then further along which has now become the breakwall.  I have seen etchings of the late 1800s where there was a railway track running down it.  The headland used to be higher but they blew the top off because sailing ships were losing wind in their sails as they passed the headland.  Well isn't that what everyone does when they lose wind in their sails, they blow their top!  I suspect it was boys having fun with explosives.

The extra is of the Three Amigos inspecting the Pasha Bulker sculpture back at the southern end of Nobbys beach.

I have to say that the Three Amigos were a great hit.  Quite a few people stopped and admired them and I was pleased to tell those that enquired  that the amigos were on a world tour and had already been to Sydney, the Blue Mountains and Bathurst.  I have promised myself in the future to get a few shots of their interactions with the locals which might be a happy memory for them of their trip.

And Bob, I am not sure this quite qualifies for your challenge.  There are a few lines in it of the breakwall and it is wide so I hope you won't mind me tagging it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.