Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Pictures at an exhibition

Taking the advice of my fellow blippers I popped in to the MCA when I had finished work and had a look at the David Goldblatt exhibition.  The thing I found interesting was looking at his proofs and which shot he chose.  He often bracketed his shots.  I suppose if you are using black and white film and developing it yourself it was a luxury he could take.  I particularly enjoyed the videos where he explained the events which lead up to certain photos.

With time constraints (wanting to head back to Newie before 2 pm trying to avoid the tradie and school runs) I didn't read all of the write up of the portraits he took of the "criminals" but of the ones I did (such fascinating stories) I was amused by a habitual thief until he was rehabilitated who used to get taxis to take him and the stolen goods away after he had broken into houses.   I mean, don't you think the taxi driver would have been aware what was going on.

The exhibition is on to 3 March and I highly recommend it for any Sydney or local blippers who haven't been yet.

The extra is a snap shot of city life.  I would like to have my proper camera and wander around during the day seeing what I could get.   It would make an interesting exercise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.