"Twinkle Twinkle Little Bat"

I had a nice walk this morning with my daughter and granddog but we didn't spot much wildlife, although we heard a tawny owl.

I was hoping to hear the first skylarks of the season on my afternoon walk at Lodge Farm. I think I saw some in the distance and it sounded as if they were warming up. None took to the air in song.

As usual I checked the dilapidated old barn for the little owl and was surprised to see twinkling fairy lights through a gap in the weatherboarding - very incongruous in the home of owls and bats. :)

PS I knew about the farmer's daughter's plans to turn the the farm buildings into a wedding venue but I didn't realise that they were so far advanced. I presumed that the yard would be spruced up a bit first. I have read recently that couples are looking for an authentic farm wedding experience and this will give the real shabby chic vibe in spades. There's now a website for The Barns At Lodge Farm.  https://lodgefarmnazeing.co.uk/about/The I wish the family the best of luck with the venture. :)

Today the National Farmers' Union has elected its first female president. A tenant farmer, she was responsible for the diversification of her beef farm into weddings and catering. She wants to 'reposition where food and farming sits in the eyes of the nation.' I'm pleased that women are making their mark in farming and getting recognition for it.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.