Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Pretending to be Jamie Oliver....

Our 'homework' this month for our camera group food photography theme is eggs. This morning I decided to try and take some photos of eggs, which obviously means cooking them first and styling the dish. I don't really like eating eggs that much, certainly not runny ones, so I ended up with soft boiled eggs and soft fried eggs which neither Murdoch or I would eat! I do eat eggs, but only when I am in the mood for them which is not on a regular basis. Anyway, here is one of the shots taken from this mornings shoot. I think the point about food photography is that it is meant to look so appealing that you feel like eating that food, and I hope this makes you feel like that!

I don't know why I was messing about with eggs this morning when we have friends coming for supper tonight and should have been preparing food for that - but I made the starter yesterday (it's so cold that I thought a hearty sweet potato and lentil soup would do the trick) and the mains of baked salmon and veggies will not take long to do. I decided to make individual Eton Mess pots for pudding but that is a last minute pudding, you cannot add the meringue too early or else it just melts and you lose that light crunch. Silly me, I don't usually like last minute things as it means you miss out on the conversation as you are in the kitchen making the food while everyone else is relaxing over a pre-supper drink. Solution.... supper in the kitchen so I can cook while having a drink and talk, everyone knows how women are experts at multi-tasking! (though no guarantee the meal will turn out as I planned...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.