Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A big walk

Last night we finally got to watch the much acclaimed movie Roma. We both loved it - I thought the cinematography was stylish and artistic, and much of life in Mexico City as depicted in this film resonated with me as I could see similarities with life in South Africa in the 60’s and 70’s. I can see why it has won so many awards and yet I can also see why many people will not like this style of movie. I suppose I liked it because I can compare it to the books I enjoy reading by writers like Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout where there is no riveting plot but merely beautiful, skilled writing at a gentle pace revealing an insight into interesting characters and places - not to everyone's taste, most people like an exciting storyline. 

Today as forecast we awoke to low cloud and damp skies, not really any snow rather a very light rain. Such a change from the past week but not an unwelcome change as instead of skiing we decided to have a good walk, and I took my camera. Any photographer knows that blue skies get boring after a while so the low cloud meant much more interesting skies today. 

Gavin and I did a good walk up the Monbiel valley, at times on a firm snowy path and at other times the snow was softer which made it hard going. Our destination was a popular mountain chalet restaurant at Alp Garfuin where we had a coffee before starting back down the valley again. We were surprised to find it quite full, as the horse carriages bring people up here for an outing. I think I overdid it today with the walk - it was about 13km long and we walk very fast with no break, and by the time we were nearing home again my knees were so painful I almost felt like I could not carry on. I have never suffered from any form of knee pain before but maybe today the cold also affected them, I don't know.

There was a break in the low clouds and the sky had some momentary blue patches when I took this photo. There were signs on the path warning us about avalanche risk as last month when they had so much snow they had a few avalanches around here - I have added an extra of one of the avalanches.

Now I am off to pack as we leave to return home again very early tomorrow morning. It has been a fantastic week of skiing in good weather - poor Thomas never managed to get out and ski but it's that time of his life when the forthcoming final school exams are all consuming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.