Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

More skiing today

Last night we never got to see Roma on Netflix as I felt ill - not sure what it was but I was in the bathroom for some time and also felt dizzy and wanting to faint. Definitely due to something I ate, but I never ate anything different to what Gavin ate so I think something I ate must have had either gluten or lactose in it as lately my food allergies have been having more severe reactions. I tend to eat a chicken salad every day when out on the mountain as although I would dearly love a warming bowl of soup I have realised they tend to thicken soup with flour in many restaurants and also chuck cream in it so I have to avoid that. Annoys me that I felt so ill as I am so careful with what I eat or drink.

Anyway, this morning I felt much better so I went skiing with Gavin. We went up a different mountain today (there are five mountains in this area although they are not connected). We were up the mountain so early that I found the runs a bit icy and not very nice, but as the morning sun warmed up the slopes they became better. The runs on this mountain overlook the village, so here is a view down over the village even though it was into the morning sun. I have also added an extra for Martin for part of his fag break series - this young man was enjoying his roll up in the sunshine looking down at that spectacular view, I cannot think of a better place for a fag break!

The mountain we skied on today used to only have T bars, and one of them was so long, it went on and on that by the time you got off it your hands were frozen into a curved grip from the cold - so we did not ski here that often because of the T bars. However a few years ago they installed a super duper 6 man chairlift, with heated seats and automatic closing seat guards and glass covers for warmth - I have added an extra of one of these.

Poor Thomas was up early and studying again today, so we came off the mountain at lunch time and met him in the village for a light lunch. Gavin then went and did some more skiing, and I went for a walk through the village which is where I saw this very elderly man on his roof clearing off the snow, as per the last extra. He was harnessed on but it still looked dangerous work to me.

They have not had snow here since the beginning of February and with the warm weather I don't see how the excellent snow conditions will last to the Easter holidays. We are not coming at Easter due to the boys all having so much work to do with exams coming up. However, quite incredibly the forecast is for snow tomorrow morning, it does not seem possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.