Believe ........

I had a very early meeting in Wigan today. On the way the most amazing dawn sky - azure blue, streaked and crossed with pink lines created by the jet streams of high up planes.

i arrived at the Town Hall a bit early, so went for a little walk. I hadn't been to Wigan Town Centre for ages.

A short distance from the Town Hall, and opposite the Civic Centre and Wigan "Life Centre",  I came across Believe Square. A statue of a rugby league player, "Billy B", who turns out to be Billy Boston, a legendary Wigan Rugby League player, forms the centrepiece of the Square.

I didn't have time to read the information board but passed on through. I did look at the big plaque commemorating Gerrard Winstanley, Wigan founder of the (ultra radical) Diggers. And a huge metal sculptured face ("Face of Wigan").

I was puzzled by the name "Believe Square". Looking it up I saw it's inspiration came from a big sporting year for Wigan - 2013. Wigan Warriors won the League. And Wigan Athletic - whose fans invented the phrase "Believe in Wigan" - had success too.

Lunchtime I was chatting to a colleague. "You know lots about football" said I. I mentioned Believe Square. "What did Wigan Athletic do in 2013”. This was a big mistake. She exploded with "I cannot believe you are asking me that". Etc !

Oh dear. I am missing the football gene. I knew she was a massive Manchester City fan. I knew she got married in blue. I knew that Wigan had beaten Man City this last weekend, a shock result, and a certain sensitivity was required. But what I hadn't remembered was that Wigan Athletic beat Manchester City in the 2013 FA cup final, and the associated soreness around the sacking of Roberto Mancini ("the boys didn't play"). She is heading down to Wembley this weekend - so good luck the Blues ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.