The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

In memory of Elizabeth

The older part of Stroud cemetery is a managed nature reserve. Parts of it are allowed to become overgrown, then are uncovered as other areas go wild. I took the bus back from town today, which dropped me at the cemetery gates. A new area of tombs and stones had been uncovered, and I went to investigate.

By chance, yesterday, 22 February, marked the 212th anniversary of Elizabeth, wife of Charles Smith. She was 'of this town'. She was but 20 years old. Does anyone visit her grave now? Do her descendants live in this town, also? She did not appear to have had sny children. Perhaps she died in childbirth, and the child died too?  I couldn't linger on sad thoughts for long under such a blazing blue sky. In the background, the chapel of rest is visible. It is no longer used as such. There were in fact two chapels, as can be seen: one for the deceased of the Church of England, and one for the remains of the 'Nonconformists'.  

I've had a busy day, making up for lost time after waking late from a delightful dream about alpacas roaming free-range in Ballachulish village! I sorted out the remaining cine films for converting; watched the women's curling semi final (oh dear for team GB, aka Scotland), printed the document I had worked on yesterday; walked to town to post letters and parcels; bought cellophane; came home to unpack and cellophane my greeting  cards delivery; packed up goods ready for my card stall tomorrow, whilst making supper...

Now it's 10pm. There are a couple of other things I could be doing. Can I be bothered?

My new pocket radio has arrived. It's not as beautiful-looking as the previous one, but has a good sound, even listening to radio 3, and can be powered by rechargeable Lithium battery, AA batteries, or mains power. Decisions, decisions! I can still only receive 17 stations. Still, I can only listen to one station at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.