The Nailsworth Kettles

There was a Farmer's Market in Nailsworth today, held once every month, and Helena had a stall as usual. We arrived on time at 8-30am in freezing but bright conditions but Helena is a bit crocked with strained back muscles.

I went to the supermarket to get her some gluten-free rolls so that she could have her regular 'bacon roll' from one of the other stallholders. Whilst there I spotted the Kettles and knew that they would be my blip for the day.

They hang from a building opposite the entrance to the supermarket car park, overhanging a small alley way which is the entrance to 'The Olive Tree' cafe/restaurant where we have sometimes eaten. To get the picture with the kettle outlined against the sky required me to stand in the road at the car park entrance, which was rather daunting. A few drivers allowed me a bit of leeway, and gave me a smile, as I ran backwards and forwards into the middle of the road to try to get a reasonable shot.

The building they are suspended from was used as the Territorial Army Drill Hall before the war, and then as the Home Guard HQ during the war (according to info from a Dennis Puffett in an online blog). The building is now home to an antiques shop. Apparently the big kettle holds 82 gallons and was originally sited outside an ironmongers shop in Malmesbury, about twenty miles away in Wiltshire.

I went home and then returned to pick up Helena who was feeling very cold and stiff. So she has had a bath and retired hurt to bed where I supplied her with fried mushrooms and scrambled eggs on toast for lunch. I'm now going to make us both a cup of tea, and then I'm watching another rugby match. It is a busy life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.