In Which Tiny Tiger Gets a Sleeping Bag

It is a thing I have been promising him for a while, and on this rainy, indoor sort of day, I finally did it. I made Tiny Tiger his own little sleeping bag/travel sack. His pals Alex and Little Bear have always had their own.

Alex the Alligator has a green sack. Little Bear has a black one. Tiny Tiger selected yellow. It is a sunny, uplifting shade. It is also highly visible, which means it will be harder to lose him when we all go backpacking.

So on this afternoon, I got out the yellow Polartec fleece. Just a sidebar: it is Malden Mills fleece that I bought years ago in the backroom at Woolrich, at poundage prices. (Yes, it's THAT Malden Mills, whose owner continued paying employees indefinitely after a 1995 fire.)

I have several large plastic containers of pretty much every shade of it available, purchased for pennies. The big plastic containers sit in Dexter's room (which used to be my sewing/craft room before I got a cat), and you may see a few of them off to the right in a prior blip that I posted.

I got out my scissors and pins and thread and a few other supplies. And under the watchful gaze of Tiny Tiger (and his Passenger - yes, he has one now, a tiny bear who travels with him), I made the sack. I wanted it large enough to fit Tiny Tiger AND his little tiger-mobile that he went out chasing bunnies in, and sliding on the ice in (see extra photo).

By the time the afternoon was over, the sack was done, and Tiny Tiger and the Passenger had fully checked it out. I also put a few nips and tucks in Tiny Tiger himself. Shh, he doesn't want anybody to know he had a little work done! And now, the Passenger is clamoring that IT needs its own little sack. Sheesh! Seems my work is never done. . . .  ;-)

The song for this posting: ZZ Top, with Sleeping Bag. (And yes, that gal running from them in the video is Heather Langenkamp, from the Nightmare on Elm St. movies.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.