The Forth Rail Bridge

I'm always impressed by Scotland. My first stop, apart from a coffee stop at Anandale Services, was South Queensferry where there's a large car park with a lovely view to this magnificent bridge. I can't imagine any city in England that would have a view like this and not charge money for parking. Here it seems they think, 'let's leave the parking free the people can enjoy this lovely scene and maybe some of them will patronise the local businesses and everyone benefits'. 

I'd noticed one small snowflake before I left Keswick this morning and on the way to Edinburgh there was nothing more than a flurry or two. As I got closer I was thinking of stopping at Rosslyn Chapel but just when I would have turned off to Pennycuik one of the flurries got quite intense and I thought, no, I'll keep moving on, just in case. The sun came out as I got to Edinburgh so I detoured to South Queensferry and in the first couple of pictures the light was still quite good. I walked down and under the bridge for the view from the other side which I like better but the light had gone and the sky wasn't so good. So my blip is from the esplanade, just in front of where I parked the van.

I'll put some more up in my album later along with a couple from Castlerigg  stone circle which I forgot about yesterday. 

More in the album here if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.