Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Assessing the damage

Wilda, of the Red-bellied Woodpeckers, was on hand this morning to alert me to some vandalism in the Bistro.  She was displeased that the suet cage was on the ground, totally empty.  Frankly, I was displeased, too.  I did a quick scan to make sure there wasn't a bear around, then noticed that it was only the suet feeders that had been tampered with.  That leads me to conclude that there's a raccoon in the picture.  Crafty little things.  Tonight I'll put my trail cam out and see if I can confirm the identity of the thief.

In other news, now that the AOGs are over, we are busy re-purposing the arenas. And just in the nick of time, too, since there were both chickadees and bluebirds asking after summer rentals this afternoon.  (Yes, I was swooning when the bluebird pair showed up, him singing his lovely song while he pointed out all the finest features of the summer cottage to his Missus).  While the bluebirds checked every detail of the pollinator garden cottage, a pair of chickadees were checking out the cottage in the side garden.  All promising signs.

Scoobie the patio chipmunk was also spotted running around today, tidying up after the AOG crowd.  I'm hoping to grab an interview later this week since Team Chippie is usually a big favorite for many of the Summer AOG events (already looking ahead to 2020).  

Later, people.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.