Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Anniversary Tins

Backblipped on 22nd October 2012

Today was our Tenth Wedding Anniversary.

Owing to recent events and our health, it was a relatively low-key day. Last summer we'd planned a magnificent party to celebrate, but it became obvious a couple of months ago that this year was not a year for partying and celebration, so we were forced to cancel our Tin Party, another sadness of this year.

Our "Tin" Anniversary was noted by FiL and my Mum though, who both gave us tins as presents / containing presents! We also got a few cards, and we celebrated in our usual way - by having potted meat for breakfast! If you go back to my blips for August 3rd in previous years then the tale of the potted meat is probably linked to somewhere.

Since I was still rather weak, the Wonderspouse was still cleaning the rat cages at this point. The other notable event today was that he cleaned the girls' cage out.

However, it didn't all go smoothly. Viv decided she didn't want to come out of the cage (she's a rescue rat, and was still VERY nervy at that stage). The Wonderspouse couldn't get her, so I gave it a try. I picked her up and she bit me - HARD - damaging 2 fingers and my left thumb in the process.

I dropped her and bled profusely, almost passing out. My left thumb was particularly badly damaged. Eventually I staunched the bleeding and bound myself up with plasters while the Wonderspouse caught Viv by throwing a towel over her.

An update on my thumb: Viv had obviously severed a nerve. Until the start of October I had absolutely no feeling at all on the top of my thumb. At the time of writing this, there is some slightly strange tingly feeling returning. Who knows whether it'll get back to normal or not - I'll just have to wait and see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.