Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Pet Judging

Backblipped on 22nd October 2012

The advantage of NOT having a Tin Wedding party today was that I could attend the Midlands Rat Club show!

In fact, I did more than attend - I was asked, a week or so before the show, to be the pet judge for the day! As I anticipated being well enough, I said yes, and ended up spending the day cuddling other people's pet rats!

It was fabulous, and I really enjoyed it, although it did feel like quite a responsibility. All the rats were really lovely and I wanted to give them all a prize, but in the end I fell for the charms of a large siamese buck who climbed into my arms and bruxed and boggled at me! He was just gorgeous!

Fortunately the committee were very forgiving of my shortcomings as a judge - I arrived late, having failed to get myself proper directions to where I was going, I was covered in plasters and bandages (the result of being savaged by Viv the previous day), I ended up giving almost all the rosettes to one person (unbeknown to me - she just had lovely rats), I forgot to thank my wonderful steward/scribe in my presentation speech, and, at the time of writing (22nd October) I STILL have to submit my show report for publication in the club magazine!

Oops!

However, it was a lovely day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.