Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Shoulder Pals!

Well, what a day! Another one!

First off, let me apologize for the rather dishevelled woman with the extra chin that you see above! I really wanted to post this picture because it was such fun having the boys sitting on my shoulders that I wanted to have this picture in my journal to remember how lovely it felt! They had such a good time scrambling around on my shoulders this morning, playing with my hair and nibbling my ears, that it was a playtime to remember. The slightly odd look on my face is the result of very slow cog-turning in my brain as I try to work out which button to press on the camera in order to take a picture, not turn it off!

There is also another reason for posting a picture of a sweaty woman with unbrushed hair and an extra chin. I'm always saying that to me, looks are not important, and so I jolly well ought to put my money (or at least my picture) where my mouth is. I don't judge other people by how they look, and I expect the same in return. I've never traded on looks - being a teenager with glasses, braces on top and bottom teeth, the wrong clothes, the wrong shoes, and the wrong sort of hair, taught me that if I was going to snare a man or make friends I'd have to do it by using my intellect (to get a suitable man) and being nice to people (to get friends). So I did!

Anyway, enough of all that, there is exciting news to report. I'll do the day chronologically, as is my habit these days!

I simply COULDN'T go swimming this morning. The spirit was more than willing, but the body was exhausted, so I came back and sat down to wait for our friendly boiler servicing man, who was coming to us first thing.

I woke up when he knocked at the door and greeted him in an even more dishevelled state than the picture above. We chatted and he did the boiler, and I remembered to make him a cup of tea - although it was a bit strong because I accidentally put 2 teabags in! Oops!

Then I went to my desk to do some work, and had playtime with the boys (see picture), before suddenly realising that it was time for lunch and I had to find proper clothes! I nearly wore a pyjama top that I use as a smartish t-shirt, then realised that if I did, the interviewer would probably have those pyjamas, so I'd better not! I combed my hair and it still looked shocking, so I clipped it back, which meant that the grey roots showed under the fading purple, but at least it LOOKED as if I'd tried (a bit)!!!

Eventually I found long trousers that fitted and didn't have holes and a top that wasn't an old t-shirt from a festival with a line-up of bands printed on the back, and headed off into Oxford, where I went to Specsavers and admired the specs I would have bought myself this summer if I hadn't spent all my money on the car and the cats!!!

I arrived at the College in good time for my interview, which consisted of writing an essay in 15 minutes, doing a grammar test, and then talking about my experiences of teaching, learning languages, and other such related things. At the end of the interview (which was about an hour and a half), the interviewer said there was ONE place left on the course for September, and she was impressed enough to offer it to me!

WAHEY!!!! :-) :-) :-) (three smileys is a big deal!!!)

I called the Wonderspouse and told him, called Scharwenka and told him, then went to Lush to buy a very small bottle of exceedingly lovely smelling stuff for the bath in celebration!

Then I picked up the Wonderspouse from work, drove home, took the interview clothes off and returned myself to shorts and a holey t-shirt, sat down for long enough to drink a cup of tea, before we set off for the vets to get Felix & Tiggy their annual booster jabs! The vet was wonderful as usual, and there was an extremely cute pug puppy in there that I rather fell in love with. There was also an advert from someone who was selling a couple of degus - I tried not to read every minute detail of it! Honestly, I tried!!!

And now it's the evening! And almost wine time, and supper time, and time to look up the books for my course and see how much I'll need to invest in them!

It's all very exciting though!

So sorry the write ups are so long at the moment. It just seems like so much is happening at the moment and I'd like to remember it all at some point in the future. Plus, my Mum now reads my blips (since my Dad went round and "put them on her computer" (i.e. made a desktop shortcut for her I think)) and it keeps her up to date with what I'm doing these days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.