Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Musical Respite

A difficult day. I was almost at meltdown first thing in the morning, beginning to feel the strain of the constant round of vet visits, unable to rid my nostrils of the smell of liquid cat food, antiseptic, and sick animals.

Fortunately my CPN came in the morning and rescued me. We talked a lot of the difficulties of normal anxiety, normal low mood versus that which appears for no apparent reason and is part of my illness.

I still failed to eat lunch, but no matter.

I visited Athena just before 3.00. She was looking very poorly, but was clearly pleased to see me. She was clearly still not well, and starting to look rather messy - the nurses were doing their very best to clean her up, but obviously not finding it easy.

I kissed her from various friends who sent their love, kissed her from "Daddy" and again from myself.

I then got into the car, dowsed myself with expensive perfume in an attempt to smell of something other than vet surgery, and collected the Wonderspouse.

After a stop at Beaconsfield services for a Macdonalds Supper, we drove on to Kensington, and the stresses of life were finally relieved by the wonders of Mahler's 3rd symphony. Afterwards, since we were staying for the late night Bach and Stravinsky Prom, we sat in our customary place under the Albert Memorial, watching the darkness fall and staring at the Royal Albert Hall.

Beautiful and calm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.