Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Potted Meat

Our Wedding Anniversary today! The Wonderspouse and I have been married for eight years now, and celebrated in the traditional "potted meat for breakfast" way! You can read the full story of the potted meat tradition here!

Apart from that, the day was, again, devoted to worrying about our darling Athena. She's still fighting, being tube-fed by the vet, and was a bit more alert when we went to visit her this afternoon. I oscillate between hope that she will get well and despair that this might be the end.

Fortunately, we have very good vets who are advising us, and the Wonderspouse and I are in total agreement about her treatment. I'm just thanking my lucky stars that the car got through its MOT this year - our current bill for this lot of treatment is now £500, and rising by £30 for every night she spends in hospital. I'm trying not to think about that too much at the moment.

Needless to say, I'm exhausted by it all. Things have fallen apart again somewhat.

This year's Wedding Anniversary celebrations were therefore a bit muted, but such is the way of things sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.