Dusk at Lake Hawea

We spent the morning driving from Queenstown to a campsite by Lake Hawea, a few miles from Wanaka. (For my Geordie blip buddies: I've no idea how the locals pronounce "Hawea", but I've been calling it "Howay" in my best Geordie accent!).
 
The campsite is really lovely - it's a big, very uncrowded site on a promontory in an incredibly quiet area by the lake (a complete contrast from Queenstown). It's very well hidden among a grove of trees: the main blip, taken as night was falling shows the promontory across an inlet of the lake.
 
According to the weather forecast we're in for some more rain from tomorrow, so this afternoon we took advantage of today's cloudy but dry weather for a lovely walk along the nearby river where we saw a variety of wildlife including a yellow hammer, a lesser redpoll, some fantails and several rabbits (and very few humans!!).
 
My caption for the extra would be "Is it something I said...?!   ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.