Mud Season!

Dear Diary,

What a difference a day makes! With semi-warm temperatures and lovely sun a lot of the snow of Sunday melted. This is the end of my driveway and illustrates the second part of spring in Maine...mud season! Some roads and driveways become impassable this time of year but I had my driveway replaced with road pack, a substance that dries out very quickly. There is just a few days of mush as the ground thaws. Of course, at this time of year, the ground is still refreezing at night so true mud season is still a few weeks away.

I am very worried about Matt. He didn't come to shovel yesterday and I haven't managed to reach him. I am dreadfully concerned that he has had another of his strokes. If I can't reach him this morning I will drive over to his house. He is always so dependable, this is very worrying. I manage to shovel a bit and with the melting I'm fine, just terribly concerned for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.