BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

A Revelation.....

..... I have only had my D90 for three years and today I made a discovery!! (bear in mind I am lazy and get very bored reading manuals so it's mostly been trial and error from day one)

I discovered "select colour temp" in my white balance settings! (knowledgeable people, readers of manuals and photographic whizzkids skip the next few lines!!!) ...... to start, this is flower number four from my Tesco beauties bought a couple of weeks ago (also a nice pink so gets a BCAM tag).

I took three shots and they came out blue .... hmmmm, maybe I have the white balance on something weird - check it!
Looked in white balance on the camera menu and, right at the bottom saw 'select colour temp' (K) (never ventured there before) ...
.... pressed that, got a list of numbers ranging up to 10000,
....... selected 10000 (hey, go for it) and got a colourful rainbow type grid
........ flower pink so scrolled down to more pink and clicked OK
.......... made the shot and - lo and behold - it was PINK !

Wow!! Who knew? Not me that's for sure ...... I'm thrilled!!!!!

So, with the use of my trusty little LED torch for arty-farty underlighting and a 6 x 4 crop this is completely SOOC - no fiddling, no faffing, no enhancement and no post-processing - yay!!!!!
(Settings inside the camera are pre-processing, not post, for the purists out there!! That's my story and I'm sticking to it!! Lol)

Little Moth was so happy you liked him enough to send him fluttering to the spotlight page - he sticks his curly tongue out and sends love to you all!!



NIKON D90 : f/5.3 : 1/8" : 80mm : ISO 200 : EV -1.3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.