If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

"The Beast from the East"

I got up this morning expecting the start of the next Ice Age!  At least that is what the Met Office had given us to believe would happen.  Instead there was about 5 cm (2") of snow and temperatures rising quickly to above freezing.

One of the pleasing effects of the slightly adverse weather conditions was this "beast from the East" and 11 of its friends.  For those who don't understand my beast from the East the Fieldfares come to us as winter visitors from the continent (to our east).  We have had singles at odd times during the winter but when I looked out there were 12 or so in the Crab Apple moving across and attacking the Holly berries.

Along with the Fieldfares there were 9 birds which are much rarer in our garden.  Starlings!  My BTO Garden Bird Watch figures show only a couple in the last 12 months.

With regard to the weather we will see what the rest of the week brings.  I don't mind snow but I would prefer no hard frosts the canals might freeze up and we are off for a week on Solace starting Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.