Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunshine on snow

When I woke up this morning everything outside was white - more snow had fallen overnight and we now had a proper snowy scene in our garden. The bad news is that our water inlet pipe to the house has frozen so we have no water. I have never known this to happen before, but last night was the coldest night we have ever had. Gavin phoned the plumber and the water supplier and they both recommended trying to thaw it with a hairdryer - not so easy when there is blizzard like snow conditions swirling about outside. We have decided to use up all the water in the hot tanks and if it runs out before the pipe has thawed out we may have to go stay somewhere else, as we can't stay here with no water. I am hoping that it starts warming up by Friday so if we eke out the water supply that we have, we may just cope....

This morning however, was beautifully sunny - absolutely freezing out there, -3C at 9.30am but bright with blue skies. I drove around looking for some snowy scenes and I liked the way the old water mill looked in the snow.

Later I went to the hairdresser for a trim - that saved washing my hair at home which will help the water situation - and on the way there the golf course that I passed looked so beautiful, completely white with just bare trees standing tall. I was unable to stop to get a photo of it as the road was too narrow.

Luke is arriving home tomorrow night from Berlin and on Friday he is getting the train to Durhan to go back for his college's annual ball. It seems such a faff to come all the way from Berlin for this occasion but it is his last chance to say goodbye to all his friends who are graduating this summer - his being a 4 year degree means he has another year to go, so he won't be with them there in his final year there. I fear his travel may be disrupted by the snow as tomorrow is forecast to be very snowy around here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.