Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Love Flight

There are few birds less attractive than our Turkey Vultures. That said, when they are on the wing, there are few birds more graceful and beautiful.  And if you are fortunate enough, as I was today, to see the courtship flight of a pair of Turkey Vultures...well, it's a little bit of magic.  I was just coming in from a 3.5 mile hike, feeling tired and ready to put my gear in the car when I looked up...and there they were.  Soaring above my head as one led the other in a synchronized "follow flight" sometimes flying so close that they appeared to be holding "wings".  What a wonderful way to end my hike!

And for you vulture fans out there (I know who you are), an interesting factoid:  turkey vultures mate for life, unless one is killed.  Each spring they renew their pair bond with the male leading the female in the "follow flight".  Neat, huh?

In other news, the Bluebirds were back in the garden this morning.  He was singing from the top of the nest box while she sat on a nearby perch.  All very promising.  

This morning, I took advantage of the unseasonable warmth to do some spring pruning in the garden.  Cut back the buddleia, whacked down all the dead phlox and bee balm stalks and cut back the montauk daisies (which are already putting out new growth!).  There are little signs of spring all over the garden, which makes me very happy.


To all my friends in the EU, please stay safe!  

Cheers.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.