More than enough

Definitely a case of 'be careful what you wish for' today. We had more snow overnight so Bailey's first walk (bottom right) was in wellies. I made the decision to have multiple footwear in the car and a change of clothes but wasn't too concerned getting the car out and on the road at my normal time. It was slow going but not too bad on the way in and I didn't have the issue that the people on the northbound carriageway of the ring road had who were stuck behind two lorries that had got stuck on the hill. It meant that when I arrived at school, at about the same time that the text came in to say that we were closed, I knew I'd need to go back through town. 

Another slow journey at first but the real issue came at the bottom of the hill when I just couldn't get the car moving. Luckily, some very kind folk came to give me a push and I decided to abandon the car on a side street and walk home. All that kit came in handy but walking home in a blizzard was no fun and I finally got in almost 3 hours after I had left school. 

Bailey was pleased to see me and loved the snow. He was even quite happy to go for a walk round to the shops in his coat, although his willingness to move whilst wearing it was considerably increased by the fact that we went with the bestest friend and the favourite. They also came to the rescue with the collection of the car with the bestest friend making a much better job of getting it home than I did. We needed help at this end to get it onto the drive but it was a relief to have it at the top of the hill rather than the bottom. And tonight the relief is related to the fact that the decision has been made to close the school tomorrow already. More snowy walks for Bailey and less drama for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.