Country roads

Dear Diary,

Yesterday was a warm, lovely day. Our melting continues at least in the parts the sun can reach. This road is quite near my house and is typical of many in my neck of the woods as they say. These are the type of dirt roads that will become quite impassable once the frost has left the ground. Where the sun can reach it, it has melted nicely but the shade part is still covered in snow and ice. Makes for some interesting driving if you venture down it. I did not.

After a winter of plowing and then a spring of mud, these types of roads will have to be re-graded if they are public roads. If they are private roads you better have high clearance and four wheel drive, neither of which I have. When I visit my friend's summer home up on the mountain at the end of a long dirt road they pick me up in their truck!

I have to say that I am especially anxious for spring to arrive this year. When I drove downtown yesterday I saw a couple of people sitting on their front step just soaking up the sun. Here, that first day of "stoop sitting" is a welcome event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.