Paw prints

Dear Diary,

Yesterday, when I was down in the cellar, I noticed something I hadn't before, tiny paw prints in the cement by the water heater. I can't imagine why I hadn't seen them before but I decided to sweep up a bit and there they were! This cement was poured 18 years ago when Purrcilla was here. My cellar is an old fashioned dirt one but I had concrete poured in sections. Purrcilla loved to explore the cellar, probably hunting for mice, and she must have stepped in the wet concrete.

Purrcilla died in 2010 and when I picked her ashes up at the vets he gave me a little gift. Before they cremated her they took an impression of her paw in plaster of Paris. I can tell you, I dissolved into a bucket of tears.

So, today, as the snow falls, again, I will give thanks for all the little ones with tiny paws that have shared my life. They leave paw prints on our hearts that can never be erased. Emerson will get an extra treat today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.