Tiny Houses, Diverted Dreams

Dear Diary,

Yesterday was not the most pleasant day to travel out in. The snow turned to rain and the wind howled in a frightful way. I stayed in and finished my book by John Hanson Mitchell, Living at the End of Time. I read it 20 years ago but this winter I have been re-reading his work. The book documents his year living in a tiny house he built himself in central Massachusetts, very near Concord. It weaves together Henry David Thoreau and the growth of the computer industry in the area, an unlikely pairing you might say but it was brilliantly done.

I have always been fascinated by tiny houses and how people are able to live in such small spaces. I even doodled my own version, my "Walden II". (Extra). Not as primitive as Mitchell's or Thoreau's needless to say but I think I could manage in it. I have drawn floor plans all my life, it is a hobby of mine.

I had wanted to become an architect when I was young but, and this was before computers of course, the math defeated me. I was also told that, "architecture was a man's job". Oh well. I became an art teacher and that was the most wonderful job in the world. I always included an architecture project in my curriculum and I still doodle floor plans, a diverted dream. Maybe in my next life...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.