My Heart is Broken

I can barely write these words.  My dear sweet little boy passed away in my arms yesterday morning.  I was able to find a animal hospital that was open and I rushed him in.  The vet determined that he had a mass pressing on his lungs making breathing difficult and there was evidence of congestive heart failure as well.  She let me hold him as she put him to sleep so I could comfort him and tell him how much he was loved  My tears fell freely on his beautiful black fur.  

There was never a gentler and more loving companion.  He truly was the joy of my life.  He was loved by everyone who ever met him and he loved them all back equally, including the dogs.  He would wake me gently with a tender paw on my cheek in the morning to let me know it was time to make his breakfast.  He loved his “tummy time” with me, snuggling up on my lap for ear scratches and tummy tickles.  He was always so proud of his mice trophies that he proudly brought and deposited on my bed.  He never met a sunbeam that he didn’t have to lie in; “sun beaming” was his favorite sport.  He loved playing with a turkey feather or his mouse on a string and enjoyed watching the birds and squirrels on the back porch.
 
Rest in peace my lovely boy and know you have taken a bit of my heart with you.  You will be greatly missed and the house is so empty this morning without you.  I’m very glad I made this little book all about you not so long ago.  It will be looked at often over the months and years to come.  Every corner of the house holds a memory of you.  I know I did the right thing but why does it feel so wrong this morning?

Thank you everyone for all your kind concerns.  I've lost my best friend and your compassion will make the loss more bearable. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.