An Aching Heart

Dear Diary,

The snow is coming down heavily and burying the house in another blanket of white this morning.  It seems appropriate somehow.  I keep thinking that I will see Emerson running around the corner and hoping up on the sofa.  I know his sweet soul is at peace now and with no pain.  The pain now is all mine to carry but it has been made much easier to bear with all the wonderful comments everyone sent yesterday.  Although most of you had never met my little boy, except through this journal, your heartfelt condolences touched my heart in a profound way,  I can never thank you enough for your kindness.  As I said yesterday, I've lost my best friend and it will take time to wander through this.

Emerson's Auntie Elaine, who had Emerson at her home for several years until he came to live with me, sent me a little chart she found about the characteristics of a Turkish Angora.  I've added it as an extra.  It sums him up perfectly.  A sweeter, gentler cat you could never find.  I've just noticed that for the last two years on this day I posted a photograph of Emerson.  March 4th/forth my little boy across that Rainbow Bridge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.