Beast from the East - Take 3

Look how deep the snow is now. It's almost to the top of my legs which makes walking very hard. But do you know what the worst thing about this 'Beast from the East' weather is?...................... It's the fact that it's hurting my paws!



This morning Ann said, 'Molly, lets go for your walk on the main roads because I want to assess how bad it is out there and see if the buses are running.' Well, I'd only got as far as Waitrose (which is about 5 mins away) when I stopped and refused to go any further because my front right paw and my back right paw were hurting me. I just stood there holding up my paws and looking all pathetic. I had a huge lump of ice in between the pads on my front paw which Ann managed to get out but she couldn't see anything wrong with my back paw. And then she realised that we'd just walked on a section of pavement which had been gritted so she started to panic that I had little bits of salt in between my back paw pads which were irritating me. Gritting salt is very dangerous for gorgeous little collies like me and even though we were only 5 mins from home; I'm too heavy for Ann to carry. Fortunately once Ann had removed the lump of ice from my front paw I managed to walk again. ….............So we just went home!



After we'd watched Jeremy Kyle. Later in the morning I went for a walk through the grounds of the Astley Ainslie Hospital where I could walk on grass so that I didn't get any salt in my paws. And this afternoon I went for a play on the Meadows where I did lots of rolling around on my back and running. I love, love, love the snow. I just don't like getting sore paws! On the walk home we had to stop twice so that Ann could remove ice from my paw pads. She's spent a lot of time today on the internet reading articles about how dangerous gritting salt is for dogs so she's trying to keep me safe. Apparently one can buy little boots for doggie paws............................. but if she buys them online the snow will be gone before they arrive. Problems, problems!



Anyway here in snowy Edinburgh the buses haven't been running at all today, the schools have been closed for a second day (& aren't re-opening tomorrow), Ann was supposed to be going to the 'Sky Bar' tonight (which only opens to the public on the 1st Thurs of every month) but that's been cancelled and everything else seems to have ground to a halt. But at least we're warm and cosy indoors now and have plenty of food and wine!



Stay safe and warm peeps. xxx

PS - a blizzard is blowing around outside again now!  Ann's hoping she won't have to go to work tomorrow.  Lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.