Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Life In the Deep Freeze

Today was very much like yesterday here.  It was cold. It snowed. In between times it thawed a little. The drips from the roof landed on the bare twigs of the honeysuckle and turned them into weird, vaguely animal-like abstract forms. Thank you Ingeborg for continuing to organise Abstract Thursday!

At the back there are strange shaped drifts where the snow is slowly slipping down the slope and refreezing as it slumps over the retaining wall. (Extra)

No wheeled vehicle has been this far up the road for two days now.  TM walked down to town this afternoon, just for something to do, I suspect.   Everything apart from the Coop was closed, and they had no milk, no bread, etc, as deliveries are not getting through.  

Not that we are in need of anything, there's enough in the cupboards to last till midsummer, though we might be eating some strange concoctions by then. 

The stove was lit by  9am. (We are doing as we are told, and keeping warm).  I'm catching up on unanswered emails and phoning folks I should have rung but hadn't got round to.  The book shelves have been reorganised. I've started knitting another scarf.  This is what I thought retirement would be like before I retired.  Not sure if I'd like it permanently  but it's quite nice for a change.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.