Somehow

Somehow I got to London Paddington by train yesterday. Arrived in Stroud after walking 3 miles to the station in snowy conditions to get the 9:08. Train was cancelled because of weather and Paddington was close! Told we wouldn’t get in by train but we managed to get a train as far as Reading after lots of delay and somehow we got from Reading to Paddington by mid-day. I thought hypothermia was going to set in as we wandered around Reading station as it was bitter and my sweaty back (from the walk to Stroud) was cold and frozen.

Managed to get to my fave restaurant in Soho despite the fact it had moved a few streets and enjoyed some amazing cheese and octopus. This salad is fennel, radish. Cubed Apple. Pomegranate and pine nuts- it was fab!

Went to a very cool old pub called The French House in Soho where mobile phones are banned. By chance I’d looked up what Hugh Grant had to say about the Leavson enquiry-development and he’d just recommended calling in at this place if I’m Soho and I was! Sadly his pub recommendation came just before he’d heard the news!

Ate at a fab Lebanese in the eve Ceru in South Kensington.

The huge hotel I’m staying in is super friendly, it was a grand old famous hotel in the 1920s and then lost its way and became a bit of a dive! Seems to have been refurbished and re-invigorised recently so is now a recommended place to stay and it’s right opposite Gloucester Road Tube! The staircase is a sight to behold!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.