An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

If you go down to the woods today...

We had more snow overnight but it's been a cold but mainly dry day. 

Neither of Alan's PA's could get here though as the roads to the south are still a nightmare.  The main motorways are better, but no one can get out of their streets to get to them!  

It's weird when the weather is like this.  There's a real sense of being suspended in time as plans are put on hold and there's no rush to be anywhere or prepare for anyone coming.  

I had planned to work my way through a massive pile of ironing today but ended up spending time with Alan instead, which was lovely.  Usually I don't get a look in when he has his PAs here.  Turns out mum's company is quite nice on a snowy day :-)

I think I mentioned that Tesco cancelled my delivery yesterday so I was just about to transfer the items from that order to the delivery due on Sunday, but I've now had an email saying that order has been cancelled too!  Damn! They've also closed off online ordering for Monday so the earliest I can get a delivery is Tuesday!  Looks like we I say we, I off course mean D will be trawling round the local coop tomorrow hoping they've had a delivery.  That said, I have bread and plenty food in the freezers so just need milk to tide us over.  David will be away from the early hours on Sunday anyway so don't have to worry about feeding him next week  :-) 

I have set myself a challenge to teach Lola a specific trick whilst David is away as a surprise for him coming back.  Watch this space...

OMG!  Just read the most tragic thing on the Golden Retriever's FB page.  A GR owner from Leeds was walking his dog by the canal today when the dog jumped into the canal (it has never done that before) went through the ice and disappeared.  The man's daughter and son-in-law jumped in to try and find him but they couldn't.  The whole family is traumatised and heartbroken. Friends and family have rallied round and they are going back to the canal tomorrow morning to try and find the poor dog.  I am in tears reading about it.  

I will pass on the family's plea that dog owners please, please, please keep your dogs on leads near water that has iced over.  


I can't imagine how you ever get over witnessing such a thing.  Will be giving Lola an extra big cuddle at bedtime tonight.


Run free handsome Ollie :-((

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.