horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Family Break

Aw man the travel saga continued.

The ferry was a great way to travel, but as I got back into UK mobile coverage I found out the trains had once again been cancelled north of Newcastle. 

I spent 45 minutes in the café at the terminal finding out that the A1 was open and, finally, a hire car from Hertz at the airport, after discovering all other forms were wiped out, and all buses were completely sold out. So a walk to Percy Main metro station; a ride on the metro to the airport (passing my birthplace, and I always enjoyed being taken on the metro as a kid); and... The Hertz booking system, despite taking payment from me, appeared to have been over-ridden, and there were no cars. None.

So a call to my sister. I'd given up. I'd stay the night at her place, and head north tomorrow. It was while waiting for her to pick me up that Mel let me know that some trains were now due to head north from late afternoon. So it turned into a nice afternoon seeing Sam, Joss and the kids, then heading to Morpeth station (where I was denied getting on board a Virgin train that was unexpectedly already there, because it wasn't scheduled to stop there and letting me on would be 'illegal').

But finally. Finally. Train north, taxi home, gin and tonic waiting for me.

In the end I should probably have waited for the Sunday morning flight I was booked on, and spent today in Rotterdam. But I have to admit, it's nice to be home.

30 hours on the move. Knackered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.