iaint

By iaint

sentimental journey

It's my birthday next Monday. A significant one. It ends with a "0".

Tonight I was trying to remember what I'd done for the last significant one. October 2002.

Back then, it usually involved a trip with the Teenager (an 8 year old at that time) to somewhere nice during the October school holidays. An early present to myself.

I was really struggling to remember, so dug out the old passports to see if they would help. No luck.

But I did get a laugh out of some of the old photos. The Blip is my 1st passport. Aged 15 in the top photo. Then 19 in the lower. Big change!

That was a fun time. It has a residence/work visa for France in it. 4 visas for the USA. Assorted entry stamps for Belgium, France, Morocco, Spain, Switzerland & the USSR.

I used to get around. I still do.

Eventually I worked out that we went to an upmarket hotel at Elounda (Crete) in October 02. Generally that wasn't a very happy time for me, so maybe the memory is a bit cloudy as a result

This time around - it has been a year long celebration, heightened by the deaths of a few friends in that time. I've done a few memorable things in the last 12 months.

Follow the Blip trail for updates over the next 7 days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.