Big long walk Sunday

Nothing to do today (because we were supposed to be visiting friends in Aberdeen this weekend) so Ann said, 'Molly, would you like to go on a big long walk?'  We walked 8.7 miles in the snow and it has worn both of us out. Walking in snow and ice is very tiring and now the back of Ann's calves are very, very sore. So sore in fact that she can hardly walk around the flat. She must have been walking 'funny' to stop herself slipping on the ice. As for me.................. well I've been snoozing on the sofa for the past three hours.



First we walked on the pavements to Figgate Park where I got to do lots of running and rolling around on my back. I didn't bother going in the burn or the loch because it was too cold. Then we walked to Portobello and walked all the way along the beach to Seafield. There wasn't any snow on the beach but it was still very, very cold so I had to do lots of running to keep warm. When we got to Seafield we walked along the cycle path to Leith and guess what?...................... There were no cyclists on the cycle path because it was too snowy so I got let off my lead to do more running. Yay!  Normally I have to stay on my lead because I have a dreadful habit of running right in front of cyclists and making them tipple topple of their bikes.  Actually I've never done that, but Ann is always worried that I will!



By the time we got to Leith we were both getting a bit tired and as luck would have it, a bus was coming so we jumped struggled on it. Ann's been trying to keep me away from pavements that have been gritted because the salt hurts my paws, so no way was she going to allow me to walk through town to get home. The bus journey took about half an hour and when Ann stood up to get off the bus her legs were so sore she could hardly walk the 5 mins home?!! She's wondering if I have sore legs/paws or whether I'm just tired. Who knows???



And now Ann's cooking a big chicken. She's asked five friends if they would like to come round to share it but nobody wants to come out in this weather. Wimps! So we're 'Billy no mates' tonight?!! That's OK though because I know that Ann will share it with me and then she can make a curry with the leftovers. In fact, even though my dinner is out for me, I'm just going to stay on the sofa until the chicken is cooked. I'm going to have a very nice dinner tonight. Yum, yum.



Stay warm and safe peeps. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.