A looooong journey!

Up at 4 am!
Taxi at 5 am!
At Vienna Airport at 5:40 am!
On the way I phoned the KLM hotline again but there were no news on the 12:15 pm KLM flight connection. I was still unconfirmed on the waiting list.
I went to the KLM ticket desk and the staff checked and suggested I could maybe get on the 6:45 am flight to AMS. It was fully booked, but if I would wait until check-in closes at 6:05 am they would know if they could put me on. If not there was still enough time to run over to Terminal 3 and check in for the Dusseldorf - Birmingham - Glasgow connection.
So I waited.....! And I was lucky! I could get on. I went to the check-in desk while they were changing my ticket, got my boarding pass and went happily though security and boarded the plane to Amsterdam.
I managed a nap on the middle seat without harassing my neighbours and made my way to the KLM lounge to start my long wait,
Since I had no seat confirmed for the 3 pm flight to Glasgow, I went directly to the desk in order to learn that I was once more on the waiting list - with 6 others ..... I was not aware of that - I thought the connection was fine .... They told me to come back later and check again.
I had breakfast and made my self as comfortable as possible, had a few chats with other stranded people and realised I was quite lucky only being postponed one day so far ...
At 12 pm I walked again to the desk. No changes - still on the waiting list .... The lady was very helpful and we looked at all possible options and she put me the waiting list for all following flights to Glasgow and Edinburgh:
3 pm -> Glasgow  (waiting List)
3:55 pm -> Edinburgh (waiting List)
9:25 pm -> Glasgow (waiting List)
8:15 am -> Glasgow (waiting List)
12:15 pm -> Edinburgh -> The first and only confirmed flight!
If I could not get on today, I would be put up in a Hotel in Amsterdam.
I really dreaded having to stay, but thought if I could not get the 3 or 4pm flight, I would rather go to the Hotel instead of waiting another 6 hours in the lounge ....
At 2 pm I made my way to the lounge. When I said good bye to the lady at the desk she said it would be looking good for the 3pm flight, she just had checked.
So I was hopeful that in the end I could get the Glasgow flight home.
At the gate I met them - the other 5 men on the waiting list. I also gathered they all had platinum status ... same as me ... so no advantage for me.
We were asked to wait until the boading was done and we were all anxious and trying not to have any eye contact. Each one hoping they would got on before the others!
In the end she called one after the other, and we all got on the flight! PHEW - I was so happy!!!!
Took my middle seat and texted Neil that I was coming home.
We landed in Glasgow and even my case arrived with me, with a red waiting list tag!
I took a taxi home and arrived shattered but happy at home.
Lovely Neil helped with the cases and we sat in the kitchen to catch up before we spent the rest of the night on the couch.

Blip - Hipshot at Vienna Airport at 5:40 am! No alternatives today :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.