OUCH!

I woke up at 7:45am feeling utterly rubbish.
After recollecting my memories I remembered the rather wild night with far too much drinks ..... and wondered if I could ever look into the eyes of my colleagues again .....
I also remembered that I wanted to say good bye to those leaving at 7:45 am .... I rushed to find the dressing gown and walked on the icy terrace just to see the mini van leaving! 
I texted Jack immediately pretending I just missed them ... not saying I was only on the terrace in my dressing gown ..... 
Next my brain told me I had to check on my flights!
Back in bed with a big glass of water I checked my emails and found out that KLM had booked me on a Sunday evening flight with BA via LHR to Glasgow!!! SUNDAY????!!!!
I was not happy but actually felt too sick to take serious actions.
I did manage to cancel my taxi for 10:30 am - by email ..... a phone call would have been too difficult!
I went back to sleep and hoped for some improvement a bit later.
At 1o:30 am I surfaced again and thought about the next actions I had to take. So I phoned KLM. Luckily my Frequent Flyer Status put me on a real person - although I was a bit shocked when I heard my own voice .... oh dear - I was rough! 
The KLM lady was very kind and checked for different options for me getting home earlier. The suggested solution was to go out on Saturday morning at 7 am with Austrian to Dusseldorf, then with Flybe to Birmingham and from there to Glasgow. that would bring me to Glasgow on Saturday afternoon. 
She booked the ticket and promised me that they were looking for further options. 
I phoned the hotel reception to extend my room ... PHEW that was the necessary chores done!
I went back to bed. No way I could have done any proper work today. But I was not too worried - I had done enough for a week and was supposed to be travelling anyways.
I resurfaced at 4 pm and felt slightly better. I called KLM again and got a standby flight option at 12 am on Saturday to AMS and the 3 pm flight to Glasgow. I much prefer to fly KLM then an airline mix with my luggage. 
But being only on the waiting list was a bit of an insecure factor and we decided that I will get to the airport for the 7 am flight and check with the ticket desk on the waiting list.
I ordered a taxi for 5 am .....
After a shower I got dressed and went on the terrace and saw that a demonstration was building up at the square. Mirka had told me that a yound Slovak journalist and his girlfriend were shot 2 days ago. This was related to that assasination. Terrible.
I made it finally out of my room and went to the bar for more water and fresh mint tea. I could not face any coffee! (This means I was really bad!)
Mirka popped by for a few minutes as she was collecting her car - I think she was much better coping with the previous night than I was .... 10 years make a difference!! And she is probably more used to drink than I am.
I mede it out for a short wak at 7 pm then returned to the hotel and had some dinner in the restaurant and another herbal tea in the bar.
I was knackered!
I packed my cases, ready for all sorts of hand luggage allowances and went to bed before 11 pm - alarm set for 4 am ......

Blip - the demonstration due to the assasination of the 27 year old investigative journalist Jan Kuciak and his girlfriend. 
Kuciak's last article - published posthumously - alleges links between the Italian mafia and figures close to the Prime Minister, Robert Fico ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.