a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Self Image

Mono Monday: Ugly

They say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and perhaps there is some truth in that.  However, the advent of the mobile phone selfie has introduced a degree of narcissism that is almost entirely new in the history of the human species.  There is a focus on one's self image amongst the young that I am delighted not to have endured myself, while growing up.

As a case in point, I read that there is currently a fashion for the young to seek plastic surgery to reduce the size of their noses as a direct consequence of their gaining a mistaken view of its size from the distortion which results when taking selfies.  You really cannot make this stuff up.

I was obviously up against it tonight when looking for a model for this shot.  Cathy did not think my suggestion that she gurn for the camera an appropriate one.  I think I have probably been forgiven now, but it was a close run thing for a while ;-). As it is, here is yours truly doing my best impression of Holly from Red Dwarf whilst taking a selfie with a mobile phone.  Obviously this is straight out of the camera with no tweaking in software ...

Thanks go to Nikmags888 for the theme and the curation of Mono Monday during the month of March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.