Another good book...

Dear Diary,

I seem to be fixated on books lately. I haven't bought a photography book in a long, long time but this one peaked my interest. Zen Camera, written by David Ulrich, advocates for creating a practice of daily photographs. It uses the concept of mindfulness as a focus. It is an excellent read with lots of helpful exercises to try.

I have several photography books on my self that have a Taoist approach to the medium. I wrote a blog for three years, A Photographic Sage, on the idea of combining Taoist principles with your camera work. Both approaches emphasize process over technique.

The scarf in the photo is one I bought in Scotland, on the Isle of Skye, back in 2005. I am very excited about my September trip back to Scotland. Despite the excitement of travel, of seeing new things, I will try to retain a mindful approach to recording my trip. It will make all the difference when I get home and look at the photographs...postcards I can buy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.