A Golden Boy

Dear Diary,

This young Jake (A young male turkey.  A young female is called a jenny.) was simply glowing in the sun and fluffed up against the frigid temperatures.  Turkey's are very hard to identify male or female as they can sometimes share traits like the leg "spurs", those sharp pointy protuberances on their legs which are used for fighting, and their "beards", the feathery addition to their chest area.  I am learning a lot about wild turkeys this winter.

The days pass slowly now.  It is only 2 months before I leave for my trip to Ireland and I'm struggling to get excited about the prospect but I know things will get easier with time.  Everything takes time, like the melting of the snow or the healing of a heart.

On Sunday a video popped up on my computer via my Google Photo account, a "Meow Movie".  I was so surprised and delighted.  It was like Emerson sending me a message that he is alright. The Universe moves in mysterious ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.