Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

4th Birthday!

Gym✖️

Didn’t have time for gym today. It was all go from the moment I got up, slowly. Those anti-dizzy pills worked wonders. Though I didn’t do any sudden movements, and only light housework was done.

Archie and I went to do our daily boiler care in Rufus's house. But I broke the key in the lock. Panic! I envisaged having to have the door chopped down, but it was resolved in seconds - the locksmith pulled out the broken key with pliers and I knew the neighbour had a key. A bit of bargaining went on when he tried to charge me £50!

JR went to the gym, then went off to the supermarket to get stuff for this afternoon’s birthday party. It had been put off from yesterday, as I wasn’t sure how if I’d still be dizzy.

I took Archie to the Links, where he met up with, and totally ignored, his erstwhile pal, Rio. They used to play together for ages. We were having a tug of war with his frisbee, but I wasn’t looking, and my thumb got in the way of his choppers. OUCH! It was very sore. That's two sore thumbs I have, and it's amazing how often you need to use them.

JR made a doggie cake - mainly carrots and peanut butter. And she also made human eats. I'm pretty good at following instructions and assembling the delicious array of nibbles.

Elizabeth, Janet & Bailey and Ann & Molly came, bearing gifts, which deserve a blip of their own. What fun we had. Especially trying to get a photo of them all. Molly cannot sit and be near cake. I hope Ann got a shot of her paw coming out to swipe it.

Archie got a couple of very cute toys. Molly, who famously never plays with toys at home, decided that, actually, she did indeed play with toys, and shook and chewed and commandeered them, while Archie looked on, uncomplaining. It was funny. Archie will have a play later when he's on his own. I think Molly had a really great time! And she went home with a slice of doggie cake for her pudding.

PS Thank you for all the kind words, stars and hearts yesterday on my (unprepared) blip day. It's very kind of everyone to pop in and leave such positive feedback. Here's to the next six years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.