Saturday Self-portrait

Hey all

Thanks for sticking with me this week while I had my comments turned off and supporting me through your views, stars and faves.  Kind people you are.

This has been a tough week and a few times I felt like I was drowning.  Mentally, emotionally and physically exhausted.  I’m not sleeping well...sometimes only 3-4 hours a night mainly due to my mind being on overload.  I’ve finished filling holes and touching up paint, washing walls, etc and today will do a bit of re-caulking around the shower.  The sorting process continues as my household items slowly find their way into either a Craigslist pile, garage sale pile and the keep-to-take-with-us pile.  

Thankfully my love was able to find and purchase a big enclosed trailer so now we finally have somewhere to move things into that we’re taking with us.  Our son is coming today to help him move some of the bigger outside stuff.

I’ve always been someone with the ability to organize well and juggle a number of things at a time so have wondered why this move - especially this week - has been so challenging.  As I asked myself a few questions, I realized that for the past 5 years I’ve been able to simplify life to a relaxed pace.  I was able to retire, wasn’t needed as much in helping out with the grandkids and took up photography and getting outdoors more seriously.  

Throw in something like a move and my daily peaceful rhythm was replaced by the task at hand.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not for one second regretting our decision to sell and move because I know it’s the right time, it’s just alot of bloody hard work!  Secondly, I’m a wee bit older than the last time we moved 12 years ago and so yeah, don’t have quite the steam or stamina I used to.  Didn’t like admitting that.

All that to say, I’m getting there.  In 2 weeks the house will be staged (by a professional ‘stager’) and then photos, videos and drone photography take place.  I know, crazy right?  It’s how it’s done here folks.  The first week of April our home goes up for sale and hopefully will sell quickly.

Then the next part of the adventure begins!  Where will we live?  Stay tuned.  

And guess what?  Today marks 1 year of my Saturday self portraits…minus the one when I tried to quit.  Wow.  Never ever would’ve thought I’d continue them this long.  I think what I like most and have grown in personally, is that I’ve definitely chilled in my approach and don’t sweat for ideas.  Whatever comes, comes.


PS I'll be okay ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.