Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Chilling...

A lazy day today. This is Virginia, my MIL, with Phoebe, who adores her. There is something comforting about the closeness of pets, isn't there? And Phoebe seems to know just what to do.

You may notice that this was not taken with my usual cameras ... in fact, this is a brand new camera, a bridge camera. Some of you may recall that I tried out a Canon bridge camera early this year and hated it. But, I have continued to like the idea of them - the notion of having such a wide optical zoom range and all the manual adjustments in a small, lightweight package. So, I decided, after much reading to give it a go again, this time with Nikon which is more familiar to me. Jury is still out, but I think I may actually like this camera.

The zoom is nice, but I think that the autofocus is a bit sluggish. Maybe I just need to (gasp) read the manual. A project for tonight once my hubs is home, dinner has been eaten and MIL is settled in for the evening. I did try out a couple of bird shots if you'd like to take a look and let me know what you think... Close up pine siskin and close up goldfinch. Both are un-cropped and SOOC.

I want to thank you all for the lovely comments and for your kind words about my MIL. It is staggering how many of us have dealt with age-related dementia in our families. Your outpouring of support is something I cannot adequately thank you for - the words "thank you" seem so in adequate...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.