Mothering Sunday

We had a nice surprise Friday when mum and dad turned up for the weekend. That evening, after I’d done my shopping and while the boys were at scouts, I went next door with my g&t to catch up. I also took with me a new notebook and pen. Dad is 88 and forever coming out with little stories that I’ve never heard before. So I wanted to get some down on paper. On Friday, we started in July 1945 and the incident where he cycled into a lorry on his way home from school. 8 pages of A4 later and we were part way through his National Service in 1948! I intend to type it up, and will try to make it an interesting read.

This morning, after Jon and H had gone to archery, I drove in to Cromer for a few bits. I also had a walk down to the pier to watch the sea doing it’s thing. You can’t beat that view. As I walked back to my car, I felt as if I was on holiday. And I thought how lucky I was to feel like that. Because I’m not on holiday; this is my life now. I think it has taken 3 years for me to really accept this, and feel it is a positive thing. I think I realised it, when I was messaging Mollie on WhatsApp and sent her a little video of the pier, and called it a little film of home. She is home Friday and we can’t wait. The pier and everything and everyone about it, really are home to Mollie!

When I got back, I went in to mum and dad with the notebook, and we carried on where we’d left off on Friday. 1948. A few more pages and we made it to January 1950 when dad was demobbed. Jon and Henry joined us for coffee and some of the stories. As mum and dad are heading back home tomorrow, and are going on a cruise soon, I won’t get another chance to continue this for a month, but can type this much up in the meantime. I also need to gather together other notes I’ve made when we have had these sorts of chats before. That will be tricky!! Anyway, a nice way to spend my day.

I’ve got a dolls house I need to sell, so I’ve cleaned it up and taken photos. Now it is on the Facebook market place and I need to see if I get any interest. Next is the trailer tent. It needs the trailer board sorting but other than that is a good solid 4berth trailer tent that still has some life in it yet. I don’t want to go back to it now we have a caravan.

Henry has spent the afternoon trying to make old security lights work. He thinks he has sorted one out, by combining bits. The sensor was the only bit that there was a question over. It is good practice for his future plans as an electrician.

I’ve had a casserole cooking in the slow cooker. I’d better go and sort it.

Thank you to my three caring, beautiful and loving children, all different and special in their own way. I’ve had cards, presents and messages, and have had a day doing things I like doing, plus time to spend with my own mum. I don’t think I could ask for more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.