Hint of things to come

Earlier in the week, we had been warned that Sunday could see the mercury jump to +20°C but that it wasn't to be the norm. The signs were though that the real cold was now a thing of the past. Given the experience of having snow almost every Easter and as last year, well into April on the 28th when our roof was being redone, I have little hope.

I had had an uncomfortable night, sure that it was simply a tummy bug but woke to strong backpains suggesting it really was kidney stones. These two symptoms always come together when the stones roll.

I tried getting up but after just a few moments hit the sofa with a hot water bottle and was "away". At some point, Flash's panting in my ear and his paws marching backwards and forwards woke me and I knew I had no alternative but to take him for his morning walk. Angie had clearly taken off for a ride with Luna and Flash can't keep up but gets horribly impatient if he doesn't get out for a walk on foreign soil. Our 1.5 hectares of garden do not suffice.

So somehow managed to get dressed and took off in the car to a nearby bit of forest where he did his business and we stretched the muscles and enjoyed the warm 10°C. First walk without a jacket.

In the bottom left photo, the view from the forest edge of the Alps in the background. The light "Föhn" effect of the wind coming over from Italy and making the mountains so clear. Sadly I now no longer have a camera that can do full justice.

In the forest, we passed the semi-illegal group of beehives that have been on MrB's hunting patch for a year now. Just a few days ago the entrances were blocked by snow, but today the girls were out in force, I suspect for the first time in months. Not much of anything in the way of food that a human eye can see.

Returning home up the drive, I suddenly noticed a yellow splash of colour in the winter frost scorched brown grass. Crocus! At this time of year? Unheard of in our garden, probably the coldest spot in the parish being so close to the forest and in lots of shade. In the village, there are masses of them and I seem to recall it's much too early even there.

Is there just an inkling of truth in this global warming rumour?

Collapsed on the sofa again for the whole day. A few stones did make their way out but it would be nice to see a big one which would signal the end of the upset. Normally stones like to exit in the mornings (and for the technically interested not at the first go!).

I did semi come awake in the evening, enough to try an egg and toast and watch a bit of TV. Didn't have the strength to zapp around on the remote control and just watched what appeared on the station Angie had been looking at last - Bavarian TV.

It started with young people doing ski tours on foot at this time of year in wonderful scenery. Truly uplifting stuff.

This was followed by a documentary on wood house building in the area and even house restoration, a subject which interests me especially since my son is in that business in the UK. Despite the seemingly opening minute, the programme wasn't about music.

Perhaps some of the trunks of the trees in the Blip will end up building new homes.

There followed 90 minutes of watching the corniest of Bavarian "folk music" programmes. Folk music is not the right word. The type of music played in private homes or in the local pubs by small groups of amateur musicians - lots of harmonicas, guitar, zither etc and a bit of quiet brass with the odd pieces of singing. Technically wonderful but it's not my everyday music or style but I was fascinated by the great joy of a large number of people ranging from about 16 to 90 playing, singing and simply having a good time together, sitting at tables, chatting, drinking and at peace with the world.

I eventually fell asleep with a very relaxed and happy heart knowing there are young and sensible people who can stop the madness of our current world. I was blessed this evening with not seeing a minute of German or worse still Sky News.

I think if I get asked what I want to be and do next time around then a carpenter in the foothills of the Alps may just be on the list. Whether I will be gifted a tiny bit of musical ability is in my present form, unlikely. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.