Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nice tail!

I've decided that I am quite smitten with my neighbors' chickens.  With the exception of the one cranky red hen, all the others are really lovely, even the rooster.  This lovely buxom lass is one of 2 or 3 ginger colored hens who greeted me when I entered the hen house.  Before I knew it, she and about 18 of her closest hen-pals were pottering around outside in the yard, finding little patches of bare grass to peck around in.  Just warm enough today that they may be finding little insects in the grass.  I've no idea what type of hen she is - maybe someone will recognize this breed; otherwise, I'll ask her human-mom when she's back in town.  

Speaking of the chicken-mom, I brought her favorite little speckled hen some fresh mealworms which were a huge hit.  Once she figured out what they were, she followed me around, wanting more.  I'd squat down and hold some in my hand and she'd daintily (and quickly) gobble them all up.  The rooster got in on the action too as well as one of the black hens.  I'll have to bring more the next time I go over.

I'm putting two more hens in Extra - one of the black ones and the special little speckled hen.

After making nice with all the girls, I went in and collected about 18 eggs, 12 of which went to my across-the-lane neighbor who's never had fresh farm eggs before!  I told her that her life was about to change...

Another nor'easter is headed towards the eastern seaboard; thankfully, this one looks like it will mostly miss us.  We expect only a few inches of snow.  Unfortunately, New England, which has already been hit very hard by the last two storms, appears to be right in the bulls eye.  So, hoping all my friends up that way stay safe.

Don't forget that TinyTuesday is nearly upon us!  This week's tag is #TT146 and your challenge is to get "up close" to your subject.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.