biddy

By biddy

Middleton Lakes RSPB reserve.

After several days of miserable weather and feeling stuck indoors, today was an antidote to my frustration! 
We had a long walk in our local park, Sutton Park, this morning.
 
https://www.birmingham.gov.uk/info/20089/parks/405/sutton_park   

This afternoon a  foray to a local nature reserve at Middleton Lakes. 

 https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/middleton-lakes

It was such a springlike day. In sheltered spots the sun was warm on my face and I felt myself unwind in the peace and tranquillity. It was only broken by bird songs, and raucous rooks in the rookery busy nest building. I heard the woodpeckers drumming on  the trees and heard the yaffle of the Green one and the unmistakable short cry of the Great Spotted as he flew through the trees with his familiar intermittent  dipping flight. 
Herons were busy in their heronry, their large nests being visible in the tops of the tall leafless trees. Yet to me it is a peace all of its own. 
   The rhythm of the seasons in our corner of  the Northern Hemisphere, never ceases to fascinate me. 
I took a lot of photos today and they will appear here one by one. 
     It is almost like banking something precious to revisit when  other grey days come along. This one was beautiful.  
    
             

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.